My Life My Journey

It's All About My World

Vivid Imagination 23/10/2016

Filed under: About Me — hifni1985 @ 8:02 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

 

quotefancy-83498-3840x2160

 

I have a vivid imagination. It is different from what they called photographic or Eidetic memory which the very existence is still debatable.

The thing is that when I read something or hear a story from someone, I can picture it so clearly on my mind as if I’m watching a movie.

Since I was born with it, I thought everyone has this kind of ability, but only some do. Maybe it has a relation with some type of personality, I don’t really know.

I read a Harry Potter novel once, and it’s the same for me as if I create the movie on my mind. It took me three days to finished reading the novel. Then when I watch the real Harry Potter movie, I thought to myself while watching the movie that some scenes in the movie are different from what I pictured them before. That’s why I don’t really like reading novel, because it requires so much works as so many thoughts and moving pictures running through my mind. I’d just rather watch the movie directly rather than reading the novel first.

When my friend tells me a story and I hear it attentively, my mind’s almost immediately processing it into a moving picture or video. The details of the story determines how clear I picture it on my mind. There was a case where I asked my friend too many questions to get the details and upset her. I was sorry, but I did it unknowingly. Perhaps I wanted to have a clear picture of it, or there was something not quite match so I couldn’t picture it correctly that it bothered me. But after that experience, I remind myself not to go into details when someone tells me something and just listen to it as it is.

Sometimes there is also an incident where I confuse my memory of something told to me by my friends as my memory of actually experiencing it together with them, which then I realize after a thinking, that I didn’t actually experience it but it is just a graphic memory of what’s told to me before.

Then there is this thing about the time when I went to study abroad for a year which has become a precious memory of mine. Few months afterwards until approximately a year, I still daydream about it. Because I still miss those moments, I sometimes liked to go through my memory of certain place at certain time and relive it again. Imagining I’m walking through the streets I used to walk, shopping through the market, or supermarket was a fun thing to do to reminiscence. It’s a vivid imagination and I don’t need to close my eyes to go back through it.

But unfortunately, nothing lasts forever. As my memory begins to fade, I could no longer go through my precious memory. It goes also for the story told to me or the novel I pictured into a movie. I forget about them as time goes on.

When I took some tests or quizzes, I’m often described by 50:50 audio:visual, not that I blindly believe on that test, or whether it has any relation to this, but same as visual, thing applies to me as well for auditory imagination. When I think of a song, the song plays in my head naturally as if I press the play button in my mind. And if I want, sometimes it plays as a music video. That of course depends on how long my memory goes as well, it could not be determined for sure, sometimes some music or music videos stay with me for long, sometimes I soon forget about them.

This is also a reason why I need a silent surroundings when I want to learn something or prepare for a test. Sounds like music interrupted me so much because I could remember them more easily than any other. Once during my college year, I prepared a test by memorizing lesson in my room but my landlady was turning a Hindi music so loud. The next day at the test, the songs played in my mind from the start until the album finished and I could barely remember any of the lesson I tried to memorize before. Well, I pretty much did terribly at that test. But how could I blame my landlady for this. It was all because of me and this nature of mine.

I don’t really define this vivid imagination as a good nature or a bad one. It just comes with some benefits and loss or just like someone said it is both a blessing and a curse.

 

(Posted some thoughts about this in facebook on June 23, 2016 at 06:47)

picture credit: picture is not mine, all rights to the original owner.

 

Leave a Reply

